Catalog Search  

Shawnee Public Library

Build your social networking skills with Shawnee classes

The Shawnee Public Library gives an introduction to the popular online services Pinterest and Facebook at a pair of upcoming computer classes.

The library hosts “Facebook for Beginners” at 10 a.m. Wednesday, April 23, and “Introduction to Pinterest” at 10 a.m. Thursday, April 24, in the Computer Training Center of the library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Read more: Build your social networking skills with Shawnee classes

April's Keep Reading!

The Son book coverADULT FICTION:  THE SON by Philipp Meyer

In the tradition of Larry McMurtary, Philipp Meyer considers the settlement of Texas through the eyes of three generations.  Eli McCullough, taken at age 13 by the Comanches, is the patriarch.  His son, Peter may carry the McCullough name, but he does not share his father’s greed for more land and more money.  That personality trait is picked up by Jeannie, Eli’s great-granddaughter.  I have to confess that while I enjoyed Eli’s and Peter’s stories, I found myself wanting to skip through Jeannie’s tale.  Her life just seemed boring.  I would rate this novel as OK.

Read more: April's Keep Reading!

New in Fabulous Fiction Finds

The Fabulous Fiction Finds corner at Shawnee is the home of inspirational fiction during the month of April.  These novels cross all genres, but are works of fiction that will leave you with a good feeling when you finish the last page.  Also called Christian fiction, you can be sure that the language is such that it won't make you blush.

Come for fun and reading at Preschool Story Time in Shawnee

The Shawnee Public Library invites some of its youngest visitors to take part in the fun and learning at its weekly sessions of Preschool Story Time on Tuesdays.

The story times are for ages 3 to 5 and take place twice on Tuesdays, at 10 a.m. and 4 p.m., beginning Feb. 4 and running through April 29. They feature stories, music, rhymes, creative movement and more.

Read more: Come for fun and reading at Preschool Story Time in Shawnee

Shawnee to host ESL class series

StudentsThe Pottawatomie County Literacy Services Department is beginning a series of English as a Second Language classes for new English speakers.

The classes will take place from 6 to 8 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays at the Shawnee Public Library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Read more: Shawnee to host ESL class series

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousReddit
Pin It

Staff Link - Developed by the Pioneer Virtual Library, Powered by Joomla! - Pioneer Library System 300 Norman Center Court, Norman OK 73072